The North Carolina General Assembly (NCGA) reconvenes on Wednesday, January 27th, and we’re partnering with the NC Justice Center in coordinated actions across the state, to tell our reps in Raleigh to take action on three critical issues:

  • Pass Medicaid Expansion. No more excuses! The COVID-19 crisis has shown us North Carolina needs to expand Medicaid now more than ever!
  • Enact an Evictions Moratorium and use the people’s funds to find shelter for homeless North Carolinians.
  • Raise the minimum wage to $15! And ensure all essential workers get hazard pay and paid sick leave.

There are currently $4.2 BILLION  in unreserved funds that the NCGA could allocate to provide direct relief to people who need it.

Here’s how to take action

Sign up for our Virtual Phone Bank on Wednesday, January 27th, 3 to 5 pm, to call our reps and urge them to pass these critical protections. Other groups and activists across the state will also be calling on the same day. Critical mass makes a difference!

Join the Coordinated Statewide NCGA Tweetstorm on Wednesday, January 27th, 12 to 2 pm.

You can also call and reach out to reps on your own at any time!

NC Senate, District 49 (Buncombe County): Sen. Julie Mayfield
CALL: (919) 715-3001
EMAIL: Julie.Mayfield@ncleg.gov
TWITTER: @Julievmayfield
More info at: www.ncleg.gov/Members/Biography/S/432

NC House District 114 (Northwest Buncombe): Rep. Susan Fisher
CALL: (919) 715-2013
EMAIL: Susan.Fisher@ncleg.gov
TWITTER: @SusanFisher114
More info at: www.ncleg.gov/Members/Biography/H/463

NC House District 115 (East Buncombe): John Ager
CALL: (919) 733-5746
EMAIL: John.Ager@ncleg.gov
TWITTER: @RepJohnAger
More info at: www.ncleg.gov/Members/Biography/H/689

NC House District 116 (Southwest Buncombe): Brian Turner
CALL: (919) 715-3012
EMAIL: Brian.Turner@ncleg.gov
TWITTER: @BrianTurnerNC
More info at: https://www.ncleg.gov/Members/Biography/H/696

If you’re not sure which district you’re in, or if you’re outside Buncombe County, you can find your NCGA legislators here.

Our NCGA leadership includes:

NC Senate President Pro Tempore: Phil Berger
CALL: (919) 733-5708
EMAIL: Phil.Berger@ncleg.gov
TWITTER: @SenatorBerger
More info at: www.ncleg.gov/Members/Biography/S/64

NC Speaker of the House: Tim Moore
CALL: (919) 733-3451
EMAIL: Tim.Moore@ncleg.gov
TWITTER: @NCHouseSpeaker
More info at: www.ncleg.gov/Members/Biography/H/339